1 thought on “Let’s Play Hollow Knight, Episode 9

  1. * After flogging YouTube into cooperation… here we are!
    * I just took a nap too. It was great.
    * It helps if you can figure out your sleep cycle length, and take naps of that length or multiples, plus however long it takes you to fall asleep. So, for me, I set an alarm for two hours or 1:45, because my sleep cycle is about 90 minutes long.
    * That whole zone is just hilarious bullshit. So spiky. So, so spiky.
    * You crossed the Zone of Flies and–oh. oh. there’s another one. Oh no.
    * “I made it, but where am I?” Not sure but it’s FULL OF SPIKES.
    * SPIKES SPIKES SPIKES what madness is this.
    * Is that a dead king, or just a due who paints?
    * Probably just a dude who paints.
    * This is very dramatic portraiture cut-scene.
    * I want an alternative ending where we just chill here painting forever.
    * Yeah let’s just walk above the flies this time. That seems safer.
    * After watching you murder a gazillion fancy bosses, it’s kinda hilarious when you lose a lot of masks to, like, a fluffy grub that just walks in a steady path along a wall.
    * SOUL.
    * Well, soul piece.
    * “I’m like Superman!” “…oops.”
    * I still love the giant leaf piles that have little grubs driving them. It’s so damn thematic in so many ways, while being a relatively simple enemy concept.
    * Well, while you’re figuring out where to go, there are a lot of smelly yeti bugs to destroy.
    * Grandpa Grub is always so happy to see you. And all his singing offspring!
    * “Oh, it’s just into the fog canyon,” you say, as if Fog Canyon isn’t the /best place/ because it is /full of fog/.
    * But who’s boiling all this murder water, huh? Who? Is someone making a giant lethal cup of tea?
    * Every time I see a mantis in this they’re pretty awesome but also reminding me of Mantis Cop from Ancestral Night, who is the most awesome. I love them so.
    * Aw yeah mantis lord music! I love it!
    * I assume they have some sort of code of honor that keeps them from attacking you three at once.
    * …just a max of two at once, check.
    * Anyway, let’s try this mantising again, it will definitely go better this time through.
    * Hm. Maaaaaybe not.
    * You’re respected, and alive! Or, uh. No more dead than usual? So that’s nice.
    * Deepnest, now that sounds like a happy place to go. And wasn’t that a mask piece up there?
    * When Cornifer is hiding, I worry.
    * The floor of spiky writhing sure is a thing.
    * Riches and writhing and rustling. I do not like it.
    * Oh my gosh those big bouncing bugs are so FLUFFY.
    * …Moss Prophet worries me.
    * The endless speedy centipede passages worry me.
    * Oh, hey, not boiling water! Just hot springs! Good to keep the difference clear before hopping in.
    * Now I know that they’re called Garpedes and they’re still terrible.
    * Oo yeah that sucker pretty much took your head-mask off.
    * Yes, let’s blame the controller. I don’t know your controller. Could be its fault.
    * The vertical one sure is a Thing.
    * That is a heck of a lot of grumbling going on in the audio.
    * Cloth, you have a cool name, please don’t die.
    * augh zombie bugs.
    * Grouchy Knight is still the Grouchiest.
    * The failed tram station is nicely creepy.
    * …wait, when did you get two blue drippy masks?
    * Tram pass???
    * Take the creepy tram to creepytown!
    * (As if this whole game isn’t already creepytown.)
    * Holly Knight is a tram being.
    * Even the known climbing is terrible climbing.
    * I wonder, in passing, how they did the ‘voices’ in this game. They’re so evocative, and somewhat like speech, but they’re not gibberish in the same sort of way Simlish is.
    * Trains! I like the light rail near me, though it’s not quite a train. It’s trainesque. Train Lite.
    * Huh. Forgot to post this when I wrote it. Well, here you go now.

Leave a comment